The Photo Contemporary selection committee is comprised of prominent photography curators and gallerists. The committee will be tasked with selecting the world’s top galleries to show at Photo Contemporary, ensuring that only the highest level of talent in a variety of photographic fields are on display.

The 2015 Selection Committee members are as follows.

Graham Howe, Curator & Photo-Historian

Graham Howe is the CEO of Curatorial Assistance in Pasadena, California. He is a curator, photo-historian, and practicing artist living in Los Angeles and Sydney. Howe studied with Robert Heinecken at UCLA where he received his MFA in Painting, Sculpture and Graphic Arts. He was the founding Director of The Australian Centre for Photography, Sydney and curator for the Graham Nash Collection and the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles. He is the biographer of photographers E.O. Hoppé and Paul Outerbridge.

Maurice Ortega, Director of Exhibitions, Curatorial Assistance, Pasadena

Maurice Ortega is the Director of Exhibitions of Curatorial Assistance in Pasadena, California. He started his career in 1989 as a staff photographer at the Australian Museum in Sydney. In 1995, he opened an advisory studio specializing in 19th century processes, particularly platinum/palladium and by 2000 was lecturing at universities in the areas of Photography and the Arts in undergraduate and post-graduate programs.

From 2003 to 2014 he served as the director of the Queensland Centre for Photography (QCP) in Brisbane, Australia, where he oversaw the exhibition, publication, educational and international programs and the biennial Queensland Festival of Photography. In 2014 he moved from Australia to Los Angeles to take the position of Director of Exhibitions at Curatorial Assistance, where he will be curating and touring exhibitions worldwide.